Double Exposure

Leave a comment

I’ve often mentioned that I’ve had a camera in my hand as long as I can remember. Back in the day, the camera was film of course, so my experimenting was limited to whatever film/developing I could pay for, and it wasn’t unlimited the way digital is today. However, this didn’t stop me from experimenting– one of my favorite things to do was take double exposures. I’d set up a table in the back yard as my tripod, and take double exposure pictures of my sister and myself– our favorite thing to do was to make ourselves look like twins!
In any case, I’ve been in a bit of a photography slump since I got home from Washington, so I decided to give double exposure photography a go. I know that I could easily stack two pictures in photoshop and reduce the opacity, but what’s the fun in that? I knew that the Nikon d7000 had the capability to do so in-camera, so I set out to figure out how to do that. While it’s not the same experiementation as using film, it does have that element of suprise as you don’t know how your two pictures will line up until you take both and view them.
This is the best one I came up with today– it is a silhouette of myself and some small greenery I found in my yard. I love how it came out and my mind is already off and running on other combinations that I can’t wait to try out!

1DSC_1287

Leave a Reply

