Northern Lights in NJ?

7 Comments

An odd set of reports started showing up on my newsfeed yesterday morning… they claimed that because of a solar flare on Thursday, there was going to be increased magnetic activity in the atmosphere, and because of the angle of the solar flare, many areas in the United States might be able to see the Northern Lights. Luckily enough, New Jersey was actually on the list of one of the best areas to view it! My sister, mom and I made plans to be at the beach at sunset. We figured looking out into the ocean, where there is very little light pollution would give us a better shot of seeing the Northern Lights. Unfortunately, we never got to see them. According to reports, they never descended southward to where we could see them during the nighttime hours (although, I hear there’s a chance we could see them again tomorrow night!)

It was not a wasted night though, since I was set up with my camera and tripod anyway, I decided to try some star trails photography, and for the hour that we sat on the beach, I took continuous thirty-second exposures. I then stacked them into a program called StarStaX (that is, after I cloned out the airplane lights from nearly every. single. one. of. my. 100. photos…).

1DSC_2452NoPlanes

7 thoughts on “Northern Lights in NJ?

  1. Wow Dana! That is amazing. Just as good as seeing the Northern Lights! I am reading a book called “Seeing the Unseen – How to Photograph Landscapes at Night.” You could have written the book. You certainly know your stuff.

    • Sounds like a good book! I’ll have to see if the library has it!
      I’d love to meet you at the beach one night if you want to try this. I’d like to give it another shot– this time for longer. This is only an hours worth of pictures– I’d love to see what it would look like with 2-3 hours! It’s really not that difficult… I could teach you if you want.

      • Dana, I just saw this reply by accident because I came on to congratulate you on Photo of the Day for this shot today on Capture the Jersey Shore! You should post this on OCAG Facebook page. It is awesome. I would LOVE to meet you on the beach. If you could teach me the technique it would be GREAT! There is supposed to be a meteor shower event this coming Monday night. Let me know what is good by email. Thank you!

  2. WOW!! just love this picture, the colors, the tones, the richness. All your hard work paid off!!

  3. Fantastic capture, this is something I have on my list of things I want to shoot 🙂

Leave a Reply

