Film!

Leave a comment

Last summer, I bought a vintage Nikon SLR from the 1970’s. I really bought it because it came with 3 lenses that I knew I’d be able to use with my camera, but curiosity got the better of me, and I bought film and batteries to put in it. The first pictures I took with it were of the beach and boardwalk in Seaside, NJ (pre-hurricane Sandy), and over the past year, I’d shoot a picture here and there. The other day I finished off the roll and finally got it developed. When I got the prints back, I was in love! It was like real-life Instagram! There was vignetting, grainy-ness, scratches on the film and wonky colors. Not to mention 2 or 3 pictures where the film didn’t advance properly and I got unintentional double exposures. Here’s 3 of my favorite from the roll– the first two I love because it shows parts of the boardwalk that are no longer there because of Hurricane Sandy and the second one because of the general vintage-ness of it.

14_14

07_7

12_12

Leave a Reply

